The tiny gallery, measuring 1m x 1.8m, is housed upstairs with the Artist Studios in the stables building alongside the historic workings of the clock tower.
2015 will see this little space show its first ever mini exhibition curated by one of the resident artists. One piece of work will be selected from each of the Hylands Artists and displayed in the Clock Tower Gallery.
Each themed exhibition will last for about 6 weeks before another of the artists selects work of their choice.
All the work will be for sale and available for collection at the end of each exhibition.
History of the clock tower
The turret or stable clock has a two-train striking birdcage movement made by local clockmaker, John Richmond of Chelmsford. Richmond is recorded as working in Springfield from 1800 to 1824. No other turret clocks signed by Richmond are known, but the turret clock in Ingatestone Hall is of a very similar construction and was probably made by him. The clock has an anchor escapement and, very unusually for a turret clock, rack striking.
Conserving the original materials was the most important consideration during the extensive restoration. Although the escape wheel and pallets were replaced due to inappropriate previous repairs, the original damaged parts are displayed alongside the clock. During the restoration of the clock movement, automatic winding was fitted to both trains of the clock dispensing with weekly manual winding.
In 2007, Chris Papworth MBHI of Kelvedon clocks carried out the restoration work. With over 40 years experience in the repair of antique clocks and watches, Chris is a member of the British Watch and Clockmakers' Guild and the British Horological Institute.